Total War: Warhammer Will Be A Trilogy

Total War: Warhammer will be the first game in a trilogy, developer Creative Assembly has confirmed.

The trilogy will consist of two additional standalone titles as well as additional content packs. Creative Assembly claims the three games will be separate games, and that each title will receive its own content packs. This will “create the single largest Total War experience ever”, apparently.

Total War: Warhammer takes the long-running historical strategy franchise into fantasy for the first time. As always, it’ll be a combination of turn-based campaign strategy and real-time tactical battles. But with something new on the table: players can experience magic, monsters and flying beasties. As of right now, Sega has shown off four groups. The Empire, the Greenskins, the Dwarfs and the Vampire Counts.

This is the sort thing Total War has avoided for sake of being historically accurate. Sega said in a press release “our rules have changed, and with change comes war on a scale as yet unimagined. The limitless deep and rich universe of Warhammer heralds a new era for Total War.”

Jay Adams reviewed Total War: Atilla for Continue Play awarding it a score of 8/10. “15 years on, Total War: Atilla sees Creative Assembly showing that they’re still able to deliver a solid game, albeit one that is very much an evolution rather than a revolution,” Jay wrote in his Total War: Atilla review. “but all eyes will now be falling on Total War: Warhammer, in the hope that the developer can truly deliver something which genuinely feels as though the franchise is able to take meaningful steps forward into new territory.”

You can watch the Total War: Warhammer announcement trailer below.


Tim Jarvis

Tim Jarvis

Tim hails from Massachusetts, and has an undying passion for videogames and writing. Also a lover of anything and everything nerdy. Movie buff, music enthusiast, internet user, sports fan, tech junky, history/politics aficionado. Beyond!
Written By
Available On ,

Related posts